ECOLOGICALLY RESPONSIBLE SOLUTIONS

Build and renovate ecologically

Our team can also offer you solutions using ecologically responsible construction and renovation materials. We are very familiar with the latest building code standards, and we will guide you throughout your project. We are very familiar with the government incentives and subsidies that you may be eligible for. We can also recommend contractors who specialize in sustainable construction and renovation work.

 

Our primary fields of expertise :

  • LEED

  • Built Green Canada

  • Rénoclimat

In addition, we carry the Rona Eco product line in store, and we offer recovery service for used paint containers.

 

Why choose ecological construction/renovation?

The main reasons for choosing eco-design include the reduction of your environmental impact, health enhancement and the decrease of your energy and water consumption. It is important to note that three main themes are a recurring part of the equation :

  • Environment: Reduce the consumption of energy, water and greenhouse gases and decrease waste generation

  • Economics: Reduce costs and responsibilities, increase value and obtain better results

  • Social: Create a more comfortable, healthier and sustainable environment

 

Basic principles for all projects :

  • Plan your work properly in order to minimize future modifications

  • Limit your consumption of resources by reusing old materials or selecting materials with recycled content

  • Reduce toxic emissions inside your home and into the atmosphere by selecting less polluting products

  • Install efficient systems in order to improve your home’s energy performance and reduce the consumption of drinking water

  • Prioritize the use of locally sourced products in order to reduce goods transportation

 

Impact of construction on health and the environment

Even though construction/renovation projects can improve your quality of life, they also have a significant impact on the environment.Did you know…

  • The concentration of volatile organic compounds (VOC), which are chemical products that are hazardous to health, is 2 to 5 times higher inside the home than outside, both in the city and the country? This concentration can even be 1,000 times higher following certain types of renovations, especially painting.

  • The residential sector is responsible for 30% of all greenhouse gases produced in the country. A large percentage of these emissions come from the consumption of energy, primarily in the form of heating (62%), water heaters (19%), operating household appliances (13%), lighting (4%) and air conditioning (2%).

  • Canadians are among the largest water consumers in the world, with an average household consumption of 329 litres per day, more than double that of the average household in France, which consumes150 litres per day.

  • The construction and renovation sector generates significant quantities of waste materials created during preparation or construction sites (including demolition), losses on cut or damaged materials, temporary-use products and packaging.

 

Myths and misconceptions!

There are many other benefits to choosing ecological construction/renovation. For example, installing electronic thermostats reduces your energy consumption and enhances your comfort. In addition, VOC-free floor coverings, counters and paint reduce smog and significantly improve the quality of indoor air. Nevertheless, there are still a number of myths surrounding ecological construction/renovation. Here are the main ones:

 

Ecological construction/renovation is more complicated!

There are more and more easy-to-use ecological materials available at renovation centres. It is no more complicated to install a low-flow toilet, a VOC-free floor covering or Energy Star® windows than to install less ecological versions! On the other hand, there are some systems that are more complex, such as gray water recovery or solar heating. However, experts are available to guide you and assist you with your projects.

 

Ecological options are more expensive!

Energy savings, the increased value of your home and subsidies available in certain provinces reduce the actual costs of installing ecological options, especially in the case of more complex systems. For example, a LEED certified home costs approximately 8% to 10% more to build than a regular home, but it will save 25% on your energy bill, which more than offsets the higher initial cost. The costs for other products, such as paints, VOC-free floor coverings or low-flow toilets, are now competitive with traditional options. According to a recent survey, 72% of Canadians would be willing to pay more for a more ecologically sound house.

 

Ecological construction is a trend that will fade away!

Nothing could be further from the truth! Human beings have always used natural local resources to their advantage, including the position of the sun and the prevailing winds. These practices are even more important today, in the face of higher energy costs, the depletion of resources and climate change. An increasing number of scientific studies also show that certain materials cause health risks when used inside the home.The growing number of LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified buildings in Canada, and the ever increasing availability of ecological products of low chemical content is evidence of a healthier and more ecological future in construction. The most performing houses also have a greater resale value besides becoming very much in demand on the real estate market.

 

Subsidies

Benefit from various tax credits when you renovate using eco-responsible methods. For more information:

https://www.ecohome.net/guides/2301/green-building-financial-incentives/

bannière_circulaire_verticale.jpg

Bargain hunters, discover our flyer

Matériaux Design

When style meets expertise

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
Get exclusive promotions
Having a project? 
Bring us your plan!

Construire et rénover de manière écologique

Notre équipe peut également vous proposer des solutions en matière de construction et de rénovation écoresponsable. Toujours informés des nouvelles normes du code du bâtiment, nous saurons vous accompagner durant votre projet. Nous demeurons également à l'affût des incitatifs et des subventions gouvernementales auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit. Nous pouvons également vous recommander des entrepreneurs spécialisés dans la construction et la rénovation durable.

Nos principales expertises :

  • LEED
  • Built Green Canada
  • Rénoclimat

De plus, nous tenons en magasin la gamme de produits Éco par Rona et disposons d'un service de récupération de contenants de peinture usés.

Qu'est ce qu'une construction responsable?

L’éco-conception est surtout présente pour réduire les impacts sur l’environnement, donner un coup de pouce à votre santé et diminuer vos dépenses reliées à votre facture d’énergie et d’eau. Il est important de noter que trois thèmes principaux reviennent toujours dans l’équation :

  • Environnement : réduire la consommation d’énergie, d’eau, des gaz à effet de serre et diminuer la génération de déchets
  • Économie : diminuer les coûts et responsabilités, augmenter la valeur et obtenir de meilleurs résultats
  • Social : créer des environnements plus confortables, sains et renouvelables

Voici quelques principes de base à la portée de tous :

  • Bien planifier ses travaux afin de réduire au minimum les modifications futures
  • Limiter la consommation de ressources en réutilisant des matériaux usagés ou en choisissant des matériaux à contenu recyclé
  • Diminuer les émanations toxiques dans la maison et dans l’atmosphère en choisissant des produits moins polluants
  • Privilégier les matériaux de provenance locale afin de diminuer le transport des marchandises
  • Mettre en place des systèmes efficaces pour améliorer la performance énergétique de la maison et diminuer la consommation d’eau potable

Impact de la construction sur la santé et sur l'environnement

Bien que la construction/rénovation puisse améliorer votre qualité de vie, elle a également des impacts importants sur l’environnement. Saviez-vous que…

  • La concentration de composés organiques volatils (COV), qui sont des produits chimiques nuisibles pour la santé, est de 2 à 5 fois plus élevée dans la maison qu’à l’extérieur, et ce, autant en ville qu’en campagne? Cette concentration peut même être 1000 fois supérieure après certaines activités de rénovation, notamment la peinture.
  • Le secteur résidentiel est responsable de 30 % des gaz à effet de serre au pays. Une grande partie de ces émissions provient de l’énergie utilisée. Cette énergie sert principalement au chauffage (62 %), au chauffage de l’eau (19 %), au fonctionnement des appareils ménagers (13 %), à l’éclairage (4 %) et à la climatisation (2 %).
  • Les Canadiens sont parmi les plus grands consommateurs d’eau au monde avec une utilisation domestique moyenne de 329 litres, soit le double d’un Français, qui consomme 150 litres par jour.
  • Le secteur de la construction et de la rénovation génère des quantités importantes de matières résiduelles, issues de la préparation du site (incluant la démolition), des pertes sur des matériaux coupés ou détériorés, des éléments d’usage temporaire et des emballages.

Mythes et fausse croyances

La construction/rénovation écologique comporte plusieurs autres avantages. Par exemple, installer des thermostats électroniques réduit votre consommation d’énergie et augmente votre confort. De plus, les revêtements de plancher, les comptoirs ou la peinture sans COV diminuent le smog, mais surtout améliorent considérablement la qualité de l’air intérieur. Malgré cela, quelques mythes persistent face à la construction/rénovation écologique. Voici les principaux :

La construction/rénovation écologique, c’est plus compliqué!

De plus en plus de matériaux écologiques et simples à utiliser sont offerts dans les centres de rénovations. Il n’est pas plus compliqué d’installer une toilette à faible débit, un couvre-plancher sans COV ou des fenêtres Energy Star® que d’installer les options courantes! Certains systèmes sont néanmoins plus complexes : pensons à la récupération des eaux grises ou à un système de chauffage de l’eau solaire. Cependant, il existe des experts pour vous guider et vous accompagner à travers vos projets.

Les options écologiques sont plus chères!

Les économies d’énergie, l’augmentation de la valeur de la maison et les subventions offertes dans certaines provinces réduisent les coûts réels des installations d’options écologiques, surtout en ce qui concerne les systèmes plus complexes. Par exemple, une maison homologuée LEED coûte environ de 8 % à 10 % plus cher à construire qu’une maison ordinaire, mais elle permet de réduire la facture d’énergie de 25 %, ce qui rembourse les frais de départ plus élevés. D’autres éléments, dont la peinture, les planchers sans COV ou les toilettes à faible débit ont maintenant des coûts similaires aux options traditionnelles. Selon un sondage récent, 72 % des Canadiens seraient prêts à payer plus cher pour une maison qui compte des aménagements écologiques.

La construction écologique, c’est une mode qui va passer!

Bien au contraire! Depuis toujours, les humains ont utilisé les avantages des matériaux naturels locaux, de la position du soleil ou des vents dominants. Ces pratiques sont encore plus importantes aujourd’hui devant les augmentations des coûts de l’énergie, la diminution des ressources et les changements climatiques. De plus en plus d’études scientifiques démontrent également que certains matériaux utilisés à l’intérieur des maisons causent des problèmes de santé.

Subventions

Profitez de différents crédits d'impôt en rénovant et construisant de manière écoresponsable.

Plus d'information ici :

http://www.ecohabitation.com/certification/renovation/subvention
MATÉRIAUX DESIGN quand le style et l'expertise s'allient
STRUCTURE DU NORD
SERVICES D'INGÉNIERIE des conseils et des réponses à vos questions
SIMPLICITÉ ET ÉCONOMIES: Ouvrez un compte-client dès maintenant!

LA RÉFÉRENCE DES BÂTISSEURS

Consultez la circulaire
valide du 12 juillet au 25 juillet
Circulaire

Abonnez-vous à notre bulletin promo et
obtenez des promotions exclusives

Bulletin promo
MATÉRIAUX DESIGN
quand le style
et l'expertise s'allient
SERVICES D'INGÉNIERIE
des conseils et des réponses
à vos questions
Livraison
à domicile
Vous désirez
construire vert
Apportez-nous
Votre plan de construction
Notre histoire
Voyez les jalons de notre évolution